Implanon implant…

wpid-images.jpgOh my god. I have had a few of these implants in my arm and let me tell you they’re not all wonderful like their made out to be. Firstly here are the different body reactions they apparently have: (I have attached the website to the description below)

The most common side effect of IMPLANON® (etonogestrel implant) is a change in your normal menstrual bleeding pattern. In studies, about 1 out of 10 women stopped using the implant because of an unfavorable change in their bleeding pattern. You may experience longer or shorter bleeding during your periods or have no bleeding at all. The time between periods may vary, and in between periods you may also have spotting.

Besides changes in menstrual bleeding patterns, other frequent side effects that caused women to stop using the implant include: Mood swings, Weight gain, Headache, Acne, Depressed mood

Other common side effects include:
Headache, Vaginitis (inflammation of the vagina), Weight gain, Acne, Breast pain, Viral infections such as sore throats or flu-like symptoms, Stomach pain, Painful periods, Mood swings, nervousness, or depressed mood, Back pain, Nausea, Dizziness, Pain at the site of insertion. This is not a complete list of possible side effects. For more information, ask your health care provider for advice about any side effects that concern you.

My Experiences Were:
🎯1st implant: I had my period heavy as for a constant 6 months at a time. I felt like I should have had shares in the tampon companies as I had to buy super tampons like they were lollies! Needless to say after dealing with a heavy flow non stop I had it removed.
🎯2nd implant: I had some periods but they were random as. I had to carry around spare tampons for the “just incase. It was like ‘bam gotcha’ with an instant clotting downpour. This went for a 2 years so I had it removed.
🎯3rd implant: I hardly had them at all and this was a pleasant surprise! My body would go months without anything then if I did get my periods they were super light. Thank god!! After a year I had this removed as I wanted to fall pregnant with my 2nd bub.

Ok: after I had this taken out it was like my body went into pay back mode. Flooding, heavy as periods just made me feel like crap. I was also living on pain killers as any other woman who bleeds heavily..it kills the stomach..so I asked my doctor about why it was so bad and apparently my body was on ‘cleanse mode’..lasted 5 months then I fell pregnant!! After I had my 2nd bub I decided to get the implant back in my arm, not that I was up or interested in sex but I wanted to control my periods..
🎯4th implant: I got it put in and so far its back to random lengthy periods. I have just had my periods for 4 months… yes ladies it’s not a typo.. 4 months! Needless to say its got to come out.

You’re probably thinking why keep going back to getting the implant?
👍Its easy to forget
👍Dont have to take the pill which has to be taken the same time everyday. The pill also makes me sick, cancer medications im on for life don’t coincide peacefully with it… neither does anything else. It’s either have this or nothing.. so I’m having it removed to give my body a break.

Any women brave enough to share their experiences??

Leave a Reply

